Blah, Blah, Effing Blah

blah: /blɑː/

informal / Noun
  1. (also blah-blah)[mass noun] used to refer to something which is boring or without meaningful content: talking all kinds of blah to him
  2. used to substitute for actual words in contexts where these are felt to be too tedious or lengthy to give in full: he said nations great and small could come together to blah blah blah
  3. (the blahs) North American depression: a case of the blahs

So, I went to the endocrinologist the other day to discuss my PCOS diagnosis in more depth.  I have to get more blood work done in a few weeks once my menstrual cycle starts again. What an asshole doctor!  Why would he inflict that kind of punishment on a poor, unsuspecting Phlebotomist????  Jerk.  Anyway, we need to check my hormone levels, yadda, yadda, yadda and figure out a plan to manage my PCOS more effectively.  He’s worried about diabetes, the difficulty I have losing weight, and other stuff.

Oh, for those of you who have zero idea what I’m talking about, here’s a PCOS link: http://www.pcosfoundation.org/?gclid=CPiKsoWPsLICFcY-MgodLWAAbA

Yesterday, I had an appointment with the doctor replacing my regular GP since she’s off having another baby.  This supply doctor was blunt, to-the-point, and border-line rude.  I love her.

I told her I was feeling pretty “blah” and wondered if my antidepressants needed to be adjusted.  She asked some really good questions that I didn’t even consider including; how many servings of fruit and veggies I get, how are my sleep patterns, what is my exercise schedule like.  I answered honestly and told her I had originally made the appointment to discuss my feet (I have heels spurs and plantar fasciitis) and how I’m just plain ol’ tired of my feet hurting ALL THE TIME.
Doctor: “Well, there’s a pretty simple solution to that.”
Me: “Lose weight, right?”
Doctor: “BINGO!”

What a bitch.

So the plan is as follows: stay on the current dose of my meds, add 4000 international units of vitamin D every day, stick to the exercise routine through the “crappy first weeks” and in 4-6 weeks or so I will see a drastic improvement in my energy levels, moods, and overall disposition.  I’ll be a regular Mary Freakin’ Poppins in no time!

Leave a Reply

